FTSE Frontier 50 Index

FTSE has extended its equity index suite to include Frontier markets.

The FTSE Frontier 50 Index is created from an eligible universe of 26 frontier markets, and is screened using FTSE’s country classification methodology which assesses markets against size, basic governance and market infrastructure. The index is calculated in real-time and is designed to be used as the basis of financial products such as ETFs, mutual funds and derivative products.

The universe for this index covers 26 markets, which have been identified by applying five criteria from FTSE's renowned country classification criteria. These are:

  • There must be a formal and independent stock market authority that actively monitors the market.
  • There should be no objection to or significant restrictions or penalties applied on the repatriation of capital and income.
  • Transparency. There should be market depth information, visibility and a timely trade reporting process and a requirement of international price dissemination.
  • Settlement: there should be a rare incidence of failed trades.
  • Clearing and Settlement period shorter than T+5 (and greater than T+1).

Click here for more information about FTSE's Country Classification process.

Further Information

Eligible Frontier Markets

  • Argentina
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Botswana
  • Bulgaria
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Estonia
  • Ghana
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Lithuania
  • Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tunisia
  • Vietnam